Are dance games good for you?

So, is Dance Dance Revolution ( DDR ) good for you? I believe that it is, and not just on the whole weight loss side. There’s a lot that I noticed that would be called good that comes from playing dancing games.

Personally, I have been playing about seven years. Over those seven years, I have never weighed over 140 lbs. I did however notice something interesting about my body- the percentage of body fat that I had decreased steadily over time. I noticed that my running endurance shot up, and I seem to do better overall with just about any cardio workout. I actually feel like my heart has gotten stronger.

This wasn’t what interested me in terms of the good though. I noticed something really amazing that I had never noticed before. I felt like I was thinking FASTER.

Now, before you say “how can you tell that you are thinking faster”, think about this: when you first start learning how to play, you actually have to understand what is on the screen. After a while, you take what you see on the screen and turn it into something you do with your feet. Once you start figuring the game out, you notice that you can see more on the screen and you start to do less thinking and more moving.

The reason this happens is because your brain makes a short-cut; this allows you to send messages from your brain to your legs faster. Basically, you are improving your motor skills (a part of your brain) by playing a dancing game. When you improve your motor skills, things like balance, reaction time, and fluid motion become easier. I will say that if you are a gymnast, a martial artist, a juggler, a seamstress, or do anything that involves balance, reaction time, or precise movement, you will be better at what you do by playing dancing games.

I will also say the reverse – I think anyone who already has great motor skills would learn a dancing game faster.

Another good that comes from dancing games is the sense of community that comes from sharing this interest with others. I created this blog to celebrate the sense of community I felt from sharing my interest of this sport – yes, I said sport. People rally together for tournaments where the most fit and agile player usually wins. There is a lot of good that comes from healthy competition, and I think that people should regularly participate in competition.

To sum it up, these are the things you gain from playing dancing games:

  • Muscle tone
  • More good cholesterol
  • Better heart usage
  • Better reaction time
  • Better balance
  • Stronger legs
  • Reduced body fat percentage
  • More precise control over motor skills
  • A sense of community (when you play in public or in private with friends)
  • A healthy dose of competition
  • Goals


DDRgame - Where exercise gets fun!

~ by legendaryn8 on December 11, 2008.

One Response to “Are dance games good for you?”

  1. […] Are dance games good for you? « Stomping Grounds […]

Leave a Reply

 
