Results of the SN2 tourney…

I felt the tournament that I ran here in south NJ went really well.  I had 11 entrants, which is pretty good since it was only a local event.  Most of the people who entered were from the area.  I was experimenting with a new format, and everyone seemed to enjoy it and they were receptive to it.  I pulled the bracket format from Jimbo’s tournament format (for those who are familiar with his tournament style).  Here is how it basically broke down:

  • Round 1: Three songs (pre chosen) // 11 competitors
  • Quarter Final: Three songs (pre chosen) // 8 competitors
  • Semi Final: Three songs (pre chosen) // 4 competitors
  • Final: One song pre chosen, two selectable at random from a bag of eight songs. // 2 competitors.

I stuck to a minimum difficulty level of 8, given that it was an “advanced” tournament.  I wanted to choose songs that are fun to play, but lend themselves to being difficult as well.

The tournament lasted about 3 hours – with everyone sticking around to watch the final round.  Since I was a little concerned about pad issues, i decided not to pair off the two finalists against each other – mainly because they both had to play the same songs anyway.  The second seed went first and played his set, followed by the first seed.

What I did differently from Jimbo’s format is that I used a different method for grading:  since it was an SN2 tourney, I thought it would be a good idea to count steps that are not marvelous and perfect.  Long story short, I ended up making the following scoring model:

  • Marvelous = 0 points
  • Perfect = 0 points
  • Great = 1 point
  • Good = 1 point
  • Almost = 1 point
  • Boo = 1 point

When the scores were tallied, the cumulative “points” for each song were tallied for each player.  The objective with this scoring system is to get the lowest score possible.  If in the event that there was a tie, I was going to take the higher marvelous count of the two.  However, ties did not occur – mainly because the scoring system was cumulative of three songs.

I wonder what I would do with an ITG tournament – I think I would do a value association similar to this.  I’ll certainly have to consult this and the new iDance arcade format when it comes out for tournament formats.

Keep on Stompin’

-N8

Note: If you want to find out when new tournaments are coming in your area, or you would to post a DDR, ITG, or iDance touranment, I recommend that you visit Beatspace.net.  Join up!

~ by legendaryn8 on March 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
